Another daily prompt which caught my eye is
Second Time Around: Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

If you know me, you’ll know there are very few books I don’t read. And if you know me really really well, you’ll know there are even fewer that I don’t read a second time around. Chances are, if it is in my home, whether begged borrowed or stolen, I will read it more than once. I have also read old copies of Reader’s Digest many times over.

However, for the purpose of this post, I will mention a few loved and lovable ones and list out why I reread them. Second time may not be accurate though, I have definitely gone a few over that 😉

To Kill a mockingbird: This is one interesting book. Good story, characters with backbones, and most importantly, it’s told from the viewpoint of the little girl. The same story wouldn’t have been as appealing from either her brother’s viewpoint or her father’s.

The Lord of the Rings: I have read this thrice already. Ok, I did get bored the last time, but only at certain portions. Which I skipped and went across to what I knew was coming next 😉 What makes this book rereadable for me is the sheer amount of imagination put into it, and the awesome tying up of loose ends. Given a plethora of characters, it would be easier than pie to let them loose, but JRR ties up 99.99 p.c. of them satisfyingly. The eagles now, I do wonder about them occasionally..

Pride and Prejudice: Story, characters, wit aplenty, pithy writing, set in the regency era, what’s not to re-read?

